DON’T LET THE BEDBUGS BITE #worldgratitudeday

Joining in with Corinne over at ‘Write Tribe‘ to celebrate World Gratitude Day.
leaves barThis is a tough one for me because I have SO MUCH to be grateful for!
To mention my children and grandchildren seems unnecessary to me because my gratitude for them is part of my very soul. They are me and I am them. Woven together in love and grace by the One that I am first and foremost, eternally grateful for.
This is a never ending circle of gratitude.
leaves barMy other family members and friends. Also unnecessary. I think of them and pray for them daily/nightly.
leaves barBefore I get out of bed in the morning I smile and say thank you.
At night, after my BIG prayers and just before saying the Rosary which lulls me to sleep I always snuggle in and thank God for my big comfy bed, my warm covers and a soft pillow on which to lay my head.
Seems silly I know but that’s my last prayer of gratitude at night.
I am grateful for my bed.
leaves barThe bed was invented many thousands of years ago and I am grateful for the progress that came to give me my bed with coil springs and lots of comfy padding. Mostly I’m grateful for not having to deal with bed bugs which, as you can imagine, were a HUGE problem when mattresses were stuffed with unsanitized feathers and hay. Thus, the phrase, “Sleep tight, don’t let the bedbugs bite.”
You can read all about the history of beds/mattresses/bedbugs here and here.
It’s actually pretty interesting but if it puts you to sleep, well hey, you too can be grateful for your comfy bed!
leaves barI hope this day finds you filled with gratitude and love.
I am grateful for each and every one of you who takes the time to read my words and leave me lovely words of your own.
I sincerely do thank you all.
leaves barMimi’s quote for the day –
leaves bar feather

28 thoughts on “DON’T LET THE BEDBUGS BITE #worldgratitudeday

  1. Joanne Earle says:

    One of my blogger friends has been having nonstop problems w/ those disgusting bugs! I think they are finally resolved. They are a big problem in hotels, even 4 star resorts. I’m getting scared to travel!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tamuria says:

    I am so grateful for my bed too. I often speak to it before I go to sleep, much to Hubby’s amusement. But seriously, anyone of us lucky enough to have a safe and comfortable place to sleep is truly blessed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. S. J. Qualls says:

    I have many people and things to be grateful for, yeah, my bed is one of them too. After years of that Temperpedic, I got my good bed and mattress last spring and I’m grateful every time I climb up into it. I worry that in his travels, DH will have to contend with bedbugs. Ish!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kalaravi16 says:

    A lot of things in life we have to be thankful for! We realize that the tiniest of comforts make a big difference in our life when they are missing! True, beds free of bed-bugs are indeed something to be thankful for😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tracie @ beets+birch says:

    Wonderful lovely post!!!!
    I’m grateful for the smallest things and indeed a comfortable bed. In the last decade at one point of my life *during my divorce* I didn’t have a bed so I slept on the floor. Although that was a really shitty time in my life it made me abundantly grateful for small comforts and really grateful that I even had a floor.

    I’m also really grateful to have never encountered bedbugs in my wandering… and I do check for tell tale signs when I travel!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Angel Stew & Devil's Brew says:

    I have been fortunate to always have at the very least a bed of some sort. First apt. on my own it was a mattress on the floor and beer cans stacked in the window as “shades.” Hahaha. I was so, so young. – I have never encountered bedbugs either and I am super grateful for that. When we lived in the south we had to check our beds, boots, every nook and cranny for snakes and tarantulas. That was enough for me!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

