FRIDAY FEATURE – You Gotta’ See This! #002

Good morning folks! Thank you all so much for being so encouraging and receptive of my new Friday feature! If this is your first time here my “Friday Feature – You Gotta’ See This!” is simply a day to showcase the amazingly talented people I see around me or come across online.Last Friday it was my pleasure to showcase Miss JoJo from ‘Tahoma Beadworks and Photography.’ She is multi-talented in multiple mediums. A rare find to be sure. If you missed the post you can read it here.This week I’m showcasing another talented woman.
Dawn Johnson, owner of ‘Paisley Soap Works.’
Dawn has been crafting handmade, all natural soaps for nearly 40 years. A craft she says she learned from her grandmother.

Q&A with Dawn from ‘Paisley Soap Works.’

1.) When did you start making soaps?

Dawn – I have been making soap since 1979 when my grandmother showed me the basics. When my son was born, he had rather sensitive skin for a time and I was so glad I knew how to make my own soap.

2.) How long does it take to make a bar of soap?

Dawn – I make soap using the “cold processed ” method so it takes about an hour to regulate temperatures, 24 hours, to rest prior to unmolding, another 24-48 hours to allow the soap to cure before cutting, and finally 5-6 weeks to fully cure. A long time but totally worth it.

3.) What is the difference between handcrafted soaps and store bought?

Dawn – The difference between handcrafted soap and the bars that you get from the grocery store is that the bars in the store aren’t soap at all…they’re detergent in solid form. Handcrafted soap is made from 3 simple ingredients : fat/oil, water, and lye…no worries, there is absolutely no residual lye in a properly made and cured bar of handmade soap.

Dawn’s personal favorite soap?
“It’s so hard for me to pick a favorite but I think “All Buttered Up! ” would be the one… it has lots of moisturizing cocoa butter, creamy shea butter, and exotic mango butter…yummy!”

Mimi’s personal favorite?
Based solely on the name…
Dragon’s Blood – “A rich and spicy scent likened to the fragrance of Dragon’s Blood resin. The scent is a luxurious blend of amber and myrrh with rich sandalwood and earthy patchouli and is made with Dragon’s Blood resin infused olive oil.”
This is a busy time of year for Dawn as she is attending several festivals throughout Michigan.
If you’re in the area please be sure to stop in and see her!
**June 25th & 26th you can find Dawn here.
‘Log Cabin Days.’ Located at the Fish Hatchery Park in Waterford MI
**August 6th Dawn will be here.
‘Annual Highland Games’ at Greenmead Historical Park in Livonia MI on Saturday, August 6th.
To place an order for Dawn’s wonderful, all natural, handmade soaps you can contact her on her Facebook page, ‘Paisley Soap Works.’ – Be sure and hit the like button while you’re there!
Visit her at her website, ‘Paisley Soap Works‘ to place your order there and learn all about the art of handmade soaps, lotions, body butters, body polishes and scrubs. Bath salts, bath oils, perfume oils and more!
Here’s a lit’l look-see of Dawn’s products.
The “Good Morning” bar. – “A crisp, energizing fragrance with may chang, orange, lime, pink grapefruit,  rose geranium, and neroli. Accented by colorful swirls reminiscent of a perfect morning sky with bright yellow, sky blue, wisps of cloud white and sunrise pink.”

Lemongrass Shea – “The wonderful moisturizing benefits of shea butter combined with the freshness of lemongrass essential oil.  Swirled with yellow and green.”

I really love the look of this one.
Honeycomb – “Contains pure wildflower honey that draws moisture to skin and a sweet floral honey scent. Natural color, loaded with pure honey with a honeycomb design.”

I love the artistry of this one too.
Dawn does phenomenal designer, custom order bars as well.
Full Moon Over Sand Dunes
‘Peacefest 2016’ – Waterford, Michigan

Before being sold out!I know this Friday Feature was a bit lengthy but when artist/craftsmen/women have turned their talents into a marketable product I turn into a carney shouting, “Step right up, step right up!
“Ya’ Gotta’ See This!”
Thank you, thank you, thank you, to Dawn for allowing me to showcase ONE of her many talents.
And thank all of you for reading along and being a part of shining a light!
I appreciate you all!
Now, get on over to ‘Paisley Soap Works‘ and show some love!

15 thoughts on “FRIDAY FEATURE – You Gotta’ See This! #002

  1. S. J. Qualls says:

    Soapers are a bunch of fine folks! Dawn seems to be exceptional in the craft. I do miss making my own soap, it is an addictive hobby/occupation. I had to quit when my health went the way of all things. My favorite soap was making goat milk/honey/oatmeal soap in my crock pot. I tried nearly every way there is to make soap, cold process was the smoothest, but hot process was almost instant gratification. I can see why your friend has a big concern. How could she not?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Angel Stew & Devil's Brew says:

      She is beyond exceptional S.J. And I know that she will teach her grandchildren so that this craft goes on and on and on. – I would’ve like to have seen your soaps S.J. You’re one of those multi talented, multi medium crafting people too!


Talk to me!

