First, a belated Happy Valentine’s Day to all of my lovey dovey, schnuckems n’ cuddle bunnies out there.
And to the rest of us you.
This pretty much says it all.
10 bonus points if you read that to the tune of, “If You’re Happy And You Know It!”
I know yesterday – and the day before that, and the day before that – was supposed to be my “cheese” post but I couldn’t finish that post until the “federallies” came to pick up the flippin’ skin filled cheese, which happened early yesterday morning, so, the cheese post will be tomorrow. Today’s post is a mix mash of whatever. – How’s that for a writer’s hook? –
(I’m laughing at myself. Feel free to join in.)
I hope everyone had a great Valentine’s Day, however you all chose to celebrate it, or not.
My day started out with me, quite literally, falling out of bed at about 4am. Nooooo. I didn’t get kicked out of bed by some really hot guy that was running late for work and throwing clothes at me saying, “Shit, shit, shit. I’m late, we gotta’ go!” – Although that may have happened “once upon a time.” – Nope. I seriously rolled over and fell out of bed. Not even kidding.Β So yeah. “Happy Valentine’s Day” to me. And of course, the loud ass thud from my big ‘ol ass hitting the floor brought my pup scurrying to the edge of the bed to investigate the commotion and when I looked up at her I’m pretty sure I heard her say, “What the hell are you doing down there?”
And then she crawled back under the covers.
Wide awake it was time to greet the day and make some coffee.
Despite my spill outta’ bed, I greeted the day with a smile.
My day decided to be an asshole and greet me like this.
Sorry rain, you won’t rain on my Valentine’s Day parade.. Um.. Except you did.. Aaaallll flippin’ day! – Asshole.
I made myself a festive Valentine’s Day cuppa java.
Mocha with a dollop of marshmallow fluff and some Christmas sprinkles.
Whatever, don’t judge. I didn’t have any just plain ‘ol regular red sprinkles, and really, birth of Christ, martyred saint? Close enough.
(Aaaaand I’m pretty sure I’m going to hell for that one…)
I went and got my hair cut off again. It feels great, looks great, and I feel human again.
Well, it solved one of mine. I’d still like to hit the lottery and solve the rest.
Then I went with my boy and his girl to an antique mall. We made no purchases but saw a lot of cool stuff.
I loved this bench. Obviously more of a decorative piece due to age but it would still look beautiful in an entry way.
Price tag: $500
I thought this little hand-painted, enamel box was super cute. I love the two ladies sitting together sharing a cup of coffee or tea. Made me think of my gal pals.
Price tag: $45
I got a lit’l homesick when I came across this gem.
Price tag: $65
And I almost bought this little vase. I loved everything about it. The style, the colors, the painting..
And now that I see it again, I wish I had..
Price tag: $28
Every time I go anywhere near an antique shop I wish I had “Antiques Roadshow” on speed dial because there are so many things with tags that claim to be authentic or that it’s #3 of only 40 made, and those things always come with the highest price tags, and my fear is that I’d be “that woman” that paid $1,000 dollars for something and it turned out to be worth two bucks. I’d be so bummed!
I also have another “antique fear.” That I’d purchase something that’s haunted! I don’t buy old mirrors no matter how beautiful they are for that very reason.. Too much unknown energy.
We popped into a couple of thrift stores as well but again, no purchases. The thrift store I deem the worst in Boise, sadly, is the only one that donates a portion of it’s proceeds to the Humane Society and animal shelters around Boise. Their stuff is just so crappy and dirty and this display of theirs? Creepy.
The mannequin in the bed was disturbing. On the other hand, I wish those mannequins were for sale. Those I would buy.
Our next stop, and the most challenging of our surprise day out was finding food. Oh my gosh..Β Almost every place we pulled into was jam-packed like it was Valentine’s Day or something. And of course, the one place that wasn’t packed, Mickey Ray’s BBQ, took forever to seat us – they had 4 tables of people – and then once we got seated it was another 10-15 minutes before someone came for our drink order and by then my boy had had enough. The food is great but not if you have to wait over a half hour to get your drinks! We ended up at the very place my boy didn’t want to eat, a Chinese buffet. Not exactly the Valentine’s dinner we all had in mind but then again, we didn’t really have a Valentine’s dinner in mind.
Last stop ‘Shopko’ where we hit some great sales. All of their winter stuff was marked down to as low as $3 for shirts and $6 for pants. I found a cute shirt but my total “Jew Boise” find of the day was a set of four, big, flameless candles with the timer option. for $3.67, normally over $20.
Boo-yah! What can I say? I’m an “Italian Jew” girl and I’ll be going back today to stock up on more shirts – if I can find more cute ones, the woman’s winter wear is a little more rugged looking than I care for.

After ‘Shopko’ we went our separate ways. I came home to sew and the kiddos headed off to see ‘Deadpool.’ I can’t wait to see that myself!
So, that was pretty much Valentine’s Day in my lit’l corner of the world. A pretty awesome day for having planned nothing other than a haircut. I think I should not make plans more often!
This morning started out with “lovin’ from the oven.” I made my boy his favorite snickerdoodles and if he doesn’t wake up soon there will be none left! So, so yummy!
Today it’s supposed to be 62 degrees out with plenty of sunshine so I will be on the road toolin’ around wherever the mood strikes me. I can’t tell you how excited I am for warm weather and sunshine to be a part of our forecasts now. It’s been a long, dark, cold winter and I am more than ready for all things spring and summer!
I hope you have a great Tuesday, whatever you’re doing, and I promise, tomorrow the cheese post!

14 thoughts on “BE STILL MY HEART

  1. Anonymous says:

    You had a better Valentines Day than I did that’s for sure. My guy was on the road, it was -10 and I sat in my recliner all day, head lolling, watching TV, surfing on line and bundled up in so many layers I could barely move. Today was 54. Go figure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Angel Stew & Devil's Brew says:

      Well, I will make a fresh batch for you when you do CP! They’re delicious. And yes, I did! For a family that doesn’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day much since we’re all older. This one was pretty cool.πŸ™‚ I’m definitely feeling the blessings.


  2. Joe Ormerod says:

    Well didn’t you just have a day? My wife and I took my Mom to Blackrock Steakhouse, she’s all alone now so I try to take her out to lunch once a week. She had to put up with me twice this week. Then we went home, caught up on so DVR’d shows then just ordered a pizza for dinner.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Angel Stew & Devil's Brew says:

      I did have a day Joe, and it was a wonderful day.πŸ™‚ – You are so good to your mom. Kathy is a lucky woman. They say if you want to see how a man is going to treat you watch how he treats his mother..πŸ™‚ – Your mom is lucky to have you too, and so am I.πŸ˜‰


    • Angel Stew & Devil's Brew says:

      Hi Jolene! And yes, for an unplanned day it wasn’t too shabby.πŸ˜€ Even with the falling out of bed bit.πŸ˜‰ You have to know the time of year to hit the sales. Like right now, we’re past Valentine’s Day start looking for winter gear to be 75% off because the store are bringing in their summer line up. In July just around the 4th, all the summer stuff will go on sale.πŸ™‚ I’m old Jolene. I have more years of shopping under my belt than you.πŸ™‚ – Hey, good to see you here!


  3. JerseyLil says:

    Karen, a belated Happy Valentine’s Day to you! I love antique shops and I especially love antique vases, wooden boxes, and old books. Interesting about your fear that something might be haunted. That thought has occurred to me a couple times usually when I look at antique jewelry because it’s such a personal item, so I look but don’t often buy. I like thrift shops but a couple I really liked in my area closed. Oh, that display at the one you went to is very creepy! Those snickerdoodles you made look yummy!πŸ™‚ I am so ready for spring here too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Angel Stew & Devil's Brew says:

    Thank you JLil, and you as well!πŸ˜€ When it comes to antiques I’m more of a looker than a buyer, unless they’ve been in my family for a million years, and even then, if it’s got a bad vibe, it’s out. I’ve lived in haunted houses A LOT. It’s not fun. And good point about the jewelry. Yeah, I would nevvvvver own a piece of someone else’s jewelry and I always think it’s funny when I see people selling their old wedding ring sets, and they don’t even have to be antiques. I think used wedding ring sets are doomed no matter how old they are.πŸ™‚ The snickerdoodles were delicious and yes, yes, yes to spring for everybody!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

